Tiam Dat Beep!

As I’ve said before, the US is a little insulated from European trends…cough…ok a lot insulated from European trends hehe. And as I’ve also mentioned before, I tend to avoid the radio and am a bit of a music snob, so I ended up missing that whole Numa Numa thing. In fact it was only a bit of chance that I stumbled upon the song, Dragostea Din Tei, at all. I had recently discovered YouTube, and ended up seeing some cute young guy’s video, which just happened to have the song in it as the background music. The tune was quite catchy, and in a foreign language (Romanian), and so naturally I was hooked. It took a few days but I finally found out what song was playing in the background. And so I discovered the Numa Numa meme.

The original video, that started it all!

What is a meme anyway? Let’s ask Merriam Webster.

Main Entry: meme
Pronunciation: ‘mEm
Function: noun
Etymology: alteration of mimeme, from mim- (as in mimesis) + -eme
: an idea, behavior, style, or usage that spreads from person to person within a culture

OK, but a little dull. I prefer this definition: meme – bigger than an idea, more contagious than the flu!

The story behind Numa Numa is actually pretty interesting…way more interesting than the song perhaps. A Japanese internet user heard the song, and made a flash “music video” for it. Part of it can be seen here. And then there was Gary Brolsma whose, erm, energetic lip-synching the song in front of his webcam that started the whole Ï’m going to look like an idiot in front of my webcam to Numa Numa thing 🙂 There have since been literally thousands of similar videos, many of them viewable on YouTube. Warning…these are all pretty bad, and not worth watching unless you know the person in the video.

Gary Brolsma gets his numa numa on.

Wikipedia has the details about how the meme spread, but I’m just going to link some of the more notable user-made videos here. I love how exuberantly gay everyone looks in these videos, even when everyone involved is straight!

Japanese Numa Numa. Yes, it’s a guy as the head-cheerleader.

Hebrew Numa Numa. I love the plays on words here.

UBC Numa Numa. They keep with the airplane theme of the original video, and add in a new dance move, the Sprinkler!

Spanish Numa Numa. The meaningless chorus has been changed to Marica tú! (you’re gay!)

Navy Numa Numa. This one is probably my favorite.

Haiducci’s version.

And finally, New Numa! Gary Brolsma returns.

I hope you have enjoyed this trip through Eurotrash hehe.

~ by dagoril on November 10, 2006.

4 Responses to “Tiam Dat Beep!”

  1. That song was stuck in my head for so long!

  2. Ha! The Navy one was my favorite too!

  3. The song lost most of its magic for me when I looked up a translation of the lyrics online. Gah what a dumb pop song hehe. It’s much better when you have no idea what they are singing about.

  4. Very wise, Grasshopper. You have just unlocked the secret of the Eurovision Song Contest’s appeal.

Leave a Reply

 
